Understanding Travelers Philanthropy


The Happiness of Mission: Philanthropic Travel
March 31, 2008, 10:07 pm
Filed under: 1, 100friends, adventure philanthropy, Altruistic Travel, altruistic traveler, authentic travel, barack obama, Blogroll, business philanthropy, changemakers, conscientious travel, Conscious Commerce, Corporate Donor Philanthropic Travel Services, Corporate Donor Travel, Corporate Donor Travel Service, corporate giving, CORPORATE RESPONSIBITY (CR) INITIATIVES, CSR, do good travel, Doing Good in Society, eco travel, EcoTourism, EthnoTourism, Exquisite Safaris, Family Philanthropy, geotourism, givebackgetaways, Giving Back, giving back travel, global warming, good corporate citizens, good intentions, goodwill travel, grassroots philanthropy, kenya safari, Kerala Declaration on Responsible Tourism, Luxury Travel, Luxury Travel with a Conscience, make a difference, marc gold, mission travel, multigenerational travel, new philanthropists, non profic connections, payitgreen, Peace through Tourism, philanthropic adventures, philanthropic advisory services, philanthropic intent, philanthropic minded vacation, philanthropic tourism, Philanthropic Travel, Philanthropic Travel Foundation, philanthropic travellers, philanthropic trip, Philanthropic Vacation, philanthropy, purpose-drive travel, resource for caring travelers, Socially Conscious Philanthropy, spiritual tourism, strategic community involvement, Sustainable Travel, tactical philanthropy, The CSR/CR Corporate Philanthropy Challenge, Tourism as a Global Peace Industry, travel agent, Travel Connoisseur, travel for learning, Travel Matters, Travel Philanthropy, travel right do good, Travelers Philanthropy, travelers philanthropy best practice, travelersphilanthropyconference, volunteer vacation, volunteerism, Voluntourism, why travel matters, world cafe climate change, World Peace Travel | Tags: , , , ,

“It is not necessary that you leave the house. Remain at your table and listen. Do not even listen, only wait. Do not even wait, be wholly still and alone. The world will present itself to you for its unmasking, it can do no other, in ecstasy it will writhe at your feet.” Franz Kafka

“He is not talking about the pursuit of happiness. He’s not even talking, as one might easily and incorrectly conclude, about lying in wait for happiness. He’s talking about making oneself genuinely available to it. He is talking about opening one’s senses to the little delights – the sunsets, the lilac-scented breezes, the hilarious bartender jokes, the quick flash of anonymous smiles, the inside straights, the large purring cats, the click of stiletto heels, the popping of bubble-wrap, the liquid song of the meadowlark, the shrug of a New York cop – the granular texture of unsolicited joy. There have been many hard times in my life – including the present – when I took refuge in reduced focus, comforting myself with the glorious filigree of immediate existence. Even a man facing a firing squad can appreciate the dawn that also arrays itself before him.

Finally, and always, there is love. By this, I don’t mean that economic bargain that often passes for love these days. I don’t mean that I will love you if you get good grades, or that I will love you if you’ll sleep with me, or that I will love you for anything. I mean what I mean when I say, “I love you.” Period. Without expectation, condition, term limit, codicil, or obligation. To say that – and to mean it in that way – makes me happy.
What makes me happiest of all is when someone says “I love you” to me – meaning it as unconditionally as I intend to mean it – and I simply accept it. Learning to accept unconditional love has been the most demanding part of my education. It requires me to love myself as much as I am loved, which is not easy, since I like to pretend that my loathsome short-comings are invisible to all but me. Still, when I love without goal and accept love without doubt, I am happy. In this, I am not pursuing happiness. I am becoming it.” – John Perry Barlow Photo: scottlondon.com

Learn More:
In Pursuit of Emptiness: Philanthropic Travel
Global Cooling?
Correlation of Fortunes: Philanthropic Travel
Social Neuroscience: Philanthropic Travel
Collaboration creates Prosperity: Philanthropic Travel
Exquisite Safaris Corporate Donor Philanthropic Advisory Services
Creative Capitalism: Partner with Exquisite Safaris
The High-Purpose Company: Exquisite Safaris Philanthropic Travel Worldwide
Exquisite Safaris clients say…
Travel Connoisseur Magazine on Exquisite Safaris Philanthropic Travel Worldwide
US Air Magazine on Exquisite Safaris Philanthropic Travel: Travel with a Heart
My First Philanthropic Travel Experience
The Fable of Stone Soup
Understanding Philanthropic Travel
Are We Talking about Philanthropy Yet? No, We Are Not
Travel Philanthropy: Creating Peace
Fast Company Magazine on Philanthropic Travel
PersonalLifemedia.com on Philanthropic Travel
Philanthropic Traveler funded High School opens near Victoria Falls, Zambia

Philanthropic Travelers:
The The One’s Who Do: Visionary Philanthropic Travelers
Visionary Philanthropic Traveler Marc Gold 100 Friends Project
Visionary Philanthropic Traveler Chellie Kew
Milton & Fred Ochieng: Philanthropic Travelers
Jane Kaye- Bailey: Philanthropic Traveler
Richard Branson: Philanthropic Traveler
Angelina Jolie: Philanthropic Traveler
Oprah Winfrey: Philanthropic Traveler
Palm Beach Life Magazine: Philanthropic Travelers

comments (0) e-mail

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

